The MSA is now motorsport uk

November 13th, 2018 • By: Chairman Aintree, Barbon, Bulletins, News

The MSA (The Motor Sports Association) is the governing body of British motorsport.

As part of a series of changes to update the MSA and to better align it with Club motorsport, the MSA has been rebranded motorsport uk with effect from 12th November 2018.

The organisation’s legal title is still the Royal Autobobile Club, Motor Sports Association Ltd, but it will be known day to day as motorsport uk.

A short film has been produced to tell you more about the organisation and why the change is being made. You can see the film here: (opens in a new tab)


issued 13/11/18

There’s still a few tickets available for the LMC Annual Dinner and Awards Evening

October 1st, 2018 • By: Chairman Aintree, Barbon, Events, News, Social Evenings, sprint, trackdays

The 2018 End of Season Members’ Dinner and Awards Evening

will be held on

Saturday 24th November 2018
at Woolton Golf Club, Doe Park, Speke Road,  Liverpool, L25 7TZ

Commencing at 7.30pm for 8.00pm, the evening will include a fine three course dinner, with Aintree and Barbon regular competitor Graham Curwen MBE as our after dinner speaker. There will also be a charity raffle, a late bar, and the presentation of the Liverpool Motor Club Speed Championship Awards for 2018.

Attendance will be by ticket only, costing just £10 per person, the evening being financially supported by the Club.  The dress code will be lounge suits for the men and “posh frocks” for the ladies.

 All LMC members and our event marshals welcome!

Click here to apply for tickets


Aintree Track Day Successful Bookings

September 24th, 2018 • By: Chairman Aintree, Events, News, trackdays

We are pleased to confirm that the following drivers have been successful booking for the Aintree Track Day on 6th October 2018.

If you have applied, but don’t see you name here, please contact LMC Track Day coordinator Phil Howarth on 07784 224 731 or by email to
If your name is here, but you didn’t receive a confirmation email from us with further details of the event, please let us know.

(List correct as at 10am, 2/10/2018)

ID First Name Last Name Car details Main Driver Add’l Driver Sh’d with Grp
16 Geoff Bebby BMW 325 Y 17 A
17 Michael Bebby BMW 325 Y 16 A
35 Stephen Beddoe Seat Leon Y A
39 David Brooks Renault Clio Y A
37 Lewis Culshaw Hyundai Coupe Y 38 A
38 Tony Culshaw Hyundai Coupe Y 37 A
23 Mike De St Paer Volvo C30 T5 Y A
9 John Earley Renaultsport clio 182 Y A
92 Lee Earley Honda S2000 Y A
15 Philip Foster Skoda Octavia vRS Y A
72 Douglas Gorge BMW 318ti Y A
3 Paul Gorge MG ZS Y A
68 Michael Grime BMW  E92 330D Y A
5 James Haslam Ford Fiesta Y A
56 Daniel Jamieson BMW M140i Y A
4 John Lloyd Renault Clio Y 96 A
36 Robert Moulding Jnr BMW Mini JCW Y A
96 Jon Phillips Renault Clio Y 4 A
18 Haydn Rushton Fiat Coupe Y A
11 Thomas Rushton Fiat Stilo Y 12 A
12 William Rushton Fiat Stilo Y 11 A
22 Raymond Smith Peugeot 206 Gti Y A
79 Andrew Walsh BMW 335d Y 80 A
80 Holly Walsh BMW 335d Y 79 A
27 Mark Warburton TVR Griffith Y 28 A
28 Nathan Warburton TVR Griffith Y 27 A
20 Phillip Williams Ford Fiesta Y 21 A
21 Roy Williams Ford Fiesta Y 20 A
58 Chris Boyd Honda Civic type R Y B
60 Anthony Bracken Toyota MR2 Y B
61 Lee Bracken Toyota MR2 Y B
40 Heath Briggs TVR Chimaera Y B
81 Michael Drinkwater Peugeot 306 Y 82 B
14 Colin Flynn BMW Mini Cooper N B
29 Richard Freye BMW M140i Y 30 B
50 Alan Fryer Honda Integra type R Y B
19 William Gallacher Toyota MR2 Y B
24 Mark Hirst Honda Civic Type R Y 25 B
25 Miles Hirst Honda Civic type R Y 24 B
54 Barry Hurst BMW 323 Y 55 B
33 Ben Ibbotson Renault Clio Y 32 B
32 Chris Ibbotson Renault Clio Y 33 B
41 Ian Johnson Holden Monaro Y B
26 Phil Liddy MG ZR Y B
59 Jordan Lloyd BMW 320i Y B
8 Dave MacKay VW Scirocco GT2 Y B
44 John Marsden Austin Mini Cooper S Y B
49 Ian McPoland Mazda MX5 Y B
91 Richard Molyneux Nissan Skyline Y B
77 Neil Ralph Renault Clio Y 78 B
78 Neil Stuart Ralph Renault Clio Y 77 B
30 Lucy Russell BMW M140i Y 29 B
93 Michael Seddon Mitsubishi Evo 9 Est Y B
55 Gary Taylor BMW 323 Y 54 B
67 John Chadwick Nissan GTR35 Y C
66 John Flaherty Audi S4 Y C
46 Barry Forshaw Honda Accord type R Y 47 C
47 Norman Forshaw Honda Accord type R Y 46 C
76 David Kenningley Mitsubishi Evo 5 RS Y 89 C
13 Phil Lloyd Mitsubishi Evo 6 Y C
52 Anthony Long Renault Megane R26 Y C
74 Barry Milce BMW M3 Y 75 C
75 Paul Milce BMW M3 Y 74 C
94 Robert Moulding BMW Mini JCW Y C
7 Stuart Pollock Subaru Impreza Y C
53 Ray Procter Mini Challenge Y C
95 Robert Scott Autotune Gemini Y C
64 John Seery Vauxhall Astra Y C
73 Iain Shaw Honda Civic type R Y C
48 Darren Smith TVR Tuscan Y C
34 Adam Stapledon Vauxhall VX220 Y C
89 George Swift Mitsubishi Evo 5 RS Y 76 C
90 David Welton TVR Tasmin Y C
31 Ian Wynburg Mazda MX5 Y C
83 Alec Butler Ariel Atom Y D
43 Anthony Connerty Single seater Y D
42 Alexander Conway Caterham 7 Y D
84 Graham Curwen Van Diemen FF1600 D
1 Peter Ibbotson Sparton FF1600 Y 2 D
2 Richard Ibbotson Sparton FF1600 N Y 1 D
65 Peter McEwen McEwen PM1 Y D
70 Rhuari Moncrieff Caterham Y D
86 Steven Parker Ginetta Y D
45 John Pickering Radical SR3 Y D
57 Keith Rogers Van Diemen FF1600 Y D
63 Robert Scott Mondiale FF1600 Y D
62 Anthony Taylor Willment BRM Y D
69 Andrew Wareing McLaren M1A Y D
87 Michael Whitworth Westfield Y D
51 Steve Worrad Chevron B49  F3 Y D

Results and Report for the September 2018 Aintree Sprint

September 3rd, 2018 • By: Chairman Aintree, Events, News, Results & Reports, sprint

The results and event report for the Aintree Sprint held on 1st September 2018 are available to view, print or download by clicking on the relevant links below:

Results, Aintree 1st September 2018
Practice times, Aintree 1st September 2018
Full times including 64ft and split times at Bechers Bend
Report, Aintree 1st September 2018

A fully customisable version of the full times are also available at – Live Timing where you can select the times for just one car or a group of cars. We include a time for the first 64ft off the line as a time of 2 secs to the 64 feet mark equates to an acceleration of 1G.

100’s of photos of the event will be on-line shortly after each event at

Results and Event Report for the July 2018 Barbon Hillclimb

July 8th, 2018 • By: Chairman Barbon, Events, Hillclimb, News, Results & Reports

The results and event report for the Barbon Hillclimb on 7th July 2018 are now available to view, print or download by clicking on the relevant links below:

Results, Barbon 7th July 2018
Top 12 Run -Off times
Event report, Barbon 9th June

Brian Taylor has placed 100’s of photos of the event on-line in support of Cancer Research at

And of course, there are lots more photos and comments from individual contributors on our Facebook Pages:
Barbon Hillclimb
Friends of Barbon Hillclimb